My Kick-Asp Dinner

(Original post date March 23, 2010)

Just in case you don’t speak Crossword Puzzle, ASPis the new abbreviation for “asparagus.” 🙂

I picked up a beautiful bunch of asparagus at Sam’s Club on Saturday.

Asparagus is a big splurge for me. I always feel “gyped” at Wegmans when I buy it because the price is per pound and you usually end up throwing most of the asparagus away.

From watching the Cooking Network I see that many people advise picking one stalk of asparagus, finding the part it snaps at and then using that as a measuring point to cut the rest of the bunch. I, on the other hand, believe that no asparagus stalk is created equal. I individually “snap” each stalk so not as to waste any of the asparagus.

For my Parmesan Roasted Asparagus I prep the stalks as stated above then spray a tin-foiled cooking sheet with Olive Oil. Since I was out of EVOO cooking spray, I put myMISTOto good use to spray the foil.

Then I cut up the stalks into bite-sized pieces. Yes, leaving the asparagus in spears looks good for presentation but when it’s just me, I prefer cutting them into bite-sized pieces before cooking. I spread the asparagus out on the cookie sheet then sprinkle with S & P and a liberal amount of lemon juice. Then I pop the sheet into the oven at 400 for about 10 minutes. After 10 minutes I squirt the ASP with more lemon juice and sprinkle with parm cheese. Return to the oven for 5 more minutes and you have PERFECT asparagus 🙂

Leave a Reply

