My Vegetarian Taco Salad

(Original post date March 24, 2010)

Monday night I made up an awesome creation to have for lunch this week. I had a version of taco salad in my head and searched my cupboards and fridge for some suitable ingredients. I found:

  • Garbanzo Beans
  • Canned corn
  • Sundried tomato Pesto
  • Red and orange bell peppers
  • Edamame
  • EVOO
  • Chili pepper

DSCN2428

While sautéing these ingredients I also browned up some hamburger.

PSYCH!!!! No animals were harmed in the making of this meal.

I didn’t use hamburger, I used the box of Lightlife Smart Ground Protein CrumblesI had picked up at Wegmans a couple weeks ago. I had clipped a $1 off coupon from a magazine and am so glad I put it to good use! I added low sodium taco seasoning to the crumbles and “browned” in a pan for just a couple minutes.

I mixed romaine lettuce, sprouts and this new salad blend

to top with the meat/bean mix for lunch today.

DSCN2448

For a dressing I mixed some Fage 0% with Ortega Taco Sauce. (Can you believe my co-worker Mary has never had Taco sauce?!)

DSCN2449

DSCN2452

*Photos by Julie?

For some reason Mary believes I am inept at photography so has voted that Julie take all pictures for me and Mary will be her assistant.

While doing the photo shoot, another co-worker came over and questioned what we were doing and why I take pictures of my food. I tried to explain it was for my blog and met an endless stream of “Why” and then an attempt at humor “Why? Are you going to forget”?” Um, NO…it’s a blog thing, you wouldn’t understand 😉

Leave a Reply

