My Fake ‘fredo

(Original post dated April 12, 2010)

I was really excited for my dinner tonight, as I had planned on trying a recipe from my new Hungry Girl 1-2-3 cookbook!

italian-style bacon alfredo bowl PER SERVING (entire bowl):
266 calories, 7.5g fat, 951mg sodium, 15g carbs, 5.25g fiber, 4g sugars, 34g protein POINTS®value 5* Like our classic Hungry Girlfredo… but with a BUNCH of delicious extras!

The main ingredient to the recipe is Tofu Shirataki Fettucine “noodles”.

These are a great alternative to regular flour pasta, with less carbs and less cals. Like regular pasta, it needs to be rinsed, drained and then DRIED.

While the noodles dried I started assembling the other ingredients.

Quartered artichokes, roasted red peppers and a Quorn Cutlet. The original recipe called for mushrooms (which I plan to use tomorrow night) and real chicken breast. Once this was assembled, I got to the “alfredo” part of the dish.

I mixed Greek Yogurt (HG called for sour cream), white cheddar popcorn seasoning (HG called for canned parmesan) and a wedge of laughing cow light cheese. This made up the “Alfredo Sauce” and into the microwave it went for one minute. After mixing, I added the artichokes, red pepper and Quorn and microwaved for another 2 minutes. Topped with a some “Real Bacon” and a TB of parmesan cheese and it was ready to be devoured!

Yum!! The original recipe did not call for the TB of shredded parmesan I added, but I think it really gave the dish a little bit more. If you ever try Tofu noodles, please do so with an open mind. They are a tad more chewy than “regular” pasta but taste just as good and add health benefits!

Leave a Reply

