My Spring Rolls

(Original post date April 27, 2010)

It’s been snowing on and off all day today. I guess NY’s motto should be “April snow showers bring May flowers”.

What more of an appropriate time than now to show how to make my favorite SPRING ROLLS? 🙂

I found a recipe for Spring Rolls with Lemon Grass Dipping Saucea few months ago on a TV show called “Cook Yourself Thin” that was on Lifetime TV. Once I tried these, I was hooked! I didn’t document the making of my lemon grass dipping sauce, but my secret to it is Gourmet Garden Lemon Grass herb blend. It lasts so much longer than fresh lemon grass.

For the spring rolls themselves, I start by prepping my veggies. Most recently I used green & red bell peppers, seedless cucumber and shredded carrot, but you can use any of your faves!

Then I got the ingredients ready to cook the shrimp.

Mirin (a sweetened rice wine), Sesame Oil and Soy Sauce ended up in a pan with the shrimp and sauteed garlic.

Always remember, over-cooking shrimp is a HUGE faux-pas. When shrimp turns from grey to pink it’s done.

Then it was time for the hardest part…the rice paper.

I am incredibly lucky that Wegmans has an extensive International Foods section. One at a time, you have to dip the rice paper into water *just* long enough for it to soften and be pliable, but not so soft that it tears or rips.

Then lift the paper out of the water and let the excess water drip off.

Spread the paper out and layer with veggies and shrimp.

Then I rolled the paper over the filling, starting at the bottom, tucking the sides over and rolling up as tightly as possible. (Sorry, I didn’t have enough hands to take a pic of that process.) This is how it ends up.

Then slice diagonally, so it’s pretty!

It’s a tedious process, but definitely worth it. I’m sure I’ll get quicker over time at the assembly but I usually make enough spring rolls for 2-3 days worth of lunches.

There was another layer of rolls on top of this! These rolls are also perfect to grab while staring into the fridge and trying to find something to snack on.

What’s your favorite recipe that takes a lot of work but is totally worth it?

Leave a Reply

