My Fruit Tarts

(Original post dated January 15th, 2011)

I have a thing for Wegmans fruit tarts.

I DO NOT have a thing for the price of Wegmans fruit tarts.

So, since I’ve gotten this Sparkpeople recipeat least 20 times in my email I decided to finally give it a try. Actually, I decided to give it 2 tries.

Tart 1 courtesy of Driscoll’s (and Wegmans)

and tart 2 courtesy of just Wegmans

I wanted to make a fresh fruit tart but my mom isn’t a huge fan of fresh fruit, thus the 2nd tart idea was born.

But I digress.

First things first, the washing of the fresh fruit

and the draining of the canned fruits.

Then the consulting of the recipe.

  • 1/2 package of refrigerated sugar cookie dough
  • 8 ounces of whipped light cream cheese
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 tablespoon water
  • 1/4 cup apricot preserves
  • Fruit of your choice

(all doubled)

DIRECTIONS
CRUST: Spread the ½ package of sugar cookie dough over a 14-inch pizza pan.

(I used two 9” aluminum pie pans)

Bake in a 375 degree oven for 12 minutes or until lightly golden brown. Cool in the pan.

TOPPING: Blend the cream cheese with the sugar and vanilla until completely mixed.

Spread in a thin layer over the cooled crust.

FRUIT LAYER: Creatively arrange the fruit in circles while slightly overlapping the slices around the crust.

(Apparently not creative enough, because my mom decided that she does indeed like raw blueberries. Picky, picky Winking smile)

GLAZE: Bring the water and preserves to a boil, stirring constantly. (Stopping only long enough to snap a pic).

Lightly brush this glaze on top of the fruit to preserve the color.

Refrigerate until ready to serve.

Sorry Wegs, I never realized fruit tarts were this easy to make!

Leave a Reply

