My Chipotle Butternut Squash Soup

Well, it’s not EXACTLY mine, I got the recipe from Country magazine, but I did make it myself so I guess that sort of makes it mine?
I love making soups and Sunday is usually my cooking day. Since we’re on our last leg of beautiful fall days (the trees have lost most of their leaves and I’m sure the cold will set in soon), I decided to make a seasonal soup and a few weeks ago I had found this recipe for Chipotle Butternut Squash Soup in the October/November 2012 issue of Country magazine.

I was also able to find the recipe (with the same picture) on the Better Homes & Garden website. I wonder if the two are somehow affiliated or if someone just sent the recipe into Country magazine and claimed it was their own?
Either way, it was mine today.
I started out assembling the ingredients:

Ingredients

  • 2 cups diced peeled butternut squash
  • 1 small carrot, finely chopped
  • 1 green onion, sliced
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 cups vegetable broth, divided
  • 1 can (14-1/2 ounces) diced tomatoes, undrained
  • 1 package (3 ounces) cream cheese, cubed (missing from photo)
  • 1/4 cup minced fresh basil
  • 1 chipotle pepper in adobo sauce, chopped
  • 1 can (15 ounces) black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 can (11 ounces) Mexicorn, drained
  • 2 cups fresh baby spinach

Directions

  • In a large saucepan, sauté the squash, carrot, onion and cumin in oil for 10 minutes.

016

Add garlic; cook 1 minute longer. Add 1-1/2 cups broth;

bring to a boil. Reduce heat. Cover and simmer for 10-12 minutes or until vegetables are tender; cool slightly. Transfer mixture to a blender; *This is an unnecessary step if you have a handy dandy Hand (Stick) Blender.*

add the tomatoes, cream cheese, basil, chipotle pepper and remaining broth.

This was my first time using Chipotle Pepper in Adobo Sauce.

The recipe called for only one pepper. So now I have quite a lot of Chipotle in Adobo left over and my first thought was to freeze each pepper and some sauce individually in an ice cube tray then store them in baggies in the freezer. Unfortunately (fortunately?), my parents’ have an icemaker so no ice cube trays were to be found. I guess I will have to find some more recipes to make this week that call for them.

Anyway, back to the recipe.

Cover and process for 1-2 minutes or until smooth. -except I didn’t need to cover anything, because I used the hand blender to blend the soup!

 

Once the soup was actual nice, creamy soup, the recipe called for the mixture to be moved from the blender back to the pan on the stovetop (if you weren’t using a stick blender).

Once back on the stovetop, stir in the beans, corn and spinach.

Cook and stir until spinach is wilted and soup is heated through.

Serve garnished with fresh basil.

Yield: 5 servings.

It was delicious- a seasonal, hearty vegetarian soup that even my meat-eating parents enjoyed…and there’s nothing quite like hot soup on a cool Fall evening.

One thought on “My Chipotle Butternut Squash Soup

Leave a Reply

